Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



The Bank of East Asia, Limited

東亞銀行有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR AND CHANGE OF MEMBER OF NOMINATION COMMITTEE

Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS has tendered his resignation as a Non-executive Director and a Member of the Nomination Committee of the Bank with effect from the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting of the Bank held on 24th April, 2020.

The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank") announces that Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS ("Dr. Fainé") has tendered his resignation as a Non-executive Director ("NED") of the Bank with effect from the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting of the Bank held on 24th April, 2020. Accordingly, he also ceased to be a Member of the Nomination Committee (the "NC") of the Bank at the same time.

Dr. Fainé is currently the chairman of the board of trustees of the Caixa d'Estalvis i Pensions de Barcelona "la Caixa" Banking Foundation.

Dr. Fainé has discharged his duties as a Director of the Bank with distinction but he notes that it is increasingly difficult, particularly in light of the COVID-19 pandemic and the distance between Spain and Hong Kong, to devote the time and effort necessary to maintain the same levels of commitment. The Board of Directors of the Bank (the "Board") has engaged Dr. Fainé as a Special Advisor to ensure continued access to Dr. Fainé's advice and experience.

Dr. Fainé has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that he is not aware of any matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

Dr. Fainé was appointed a Director of the Bank in 2009 and has served the Bank for more than 10 years. The Board would like to extend its gratitude to Dr. Fainé for his wise counsel and contribution to the Board and the Bank during his tenure of service and wishes him every happiness, good health and success for the future.

By Order of the Board David LI Kwok-po Executive Chairman

Hong Kong, 24th April, 2020

As at the date of this announcement after the above change, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po* (Executive Chairman), Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung* (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun** (Deputy Chairman), Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing*, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai*, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze*, Mr. Adrian David LI Man-kiu* (Co-Chief Executive), Mr. Brian David LI Man-bun* (Co-Chief Executive), Dr. Daryl NG Win-kong*, Mr. Masayuki OKU*, Dr. the Hon. Rita FAN HSU Laitai**, Mr. Meocre LI Kwok-wing**, Dr. the Hon. Henry TANG Ying-yen**, Dr. Delman LEE** and Mr. William Junior Guilherme DOO**.

- # Executive Director
- * Non-executive Director
- ** Independent Non-executive Director